10 things you didn’t know about Malaysia’s car number plates | Singapore Informer

We see car number plates everyday on the road, but how many of us know all about it?

Before we start, let’s get ourselves familiar with the registration prefix of each states:

A – Perak | B – Selangor | C – Pahang | D – Kelantan | J – Johor | K – Kedah | M – Malacca | N – Negeri Sembilan | P – Penang | R – Perlis | T – Terengganu | W – Kuala Lumpur | Langkawi (KV) | L- Labuan | Q – Sarawak | S – Sabah | Putrajaya – Putrajaya

1) Did you know certain alphabetical letters are omitted from our car plates?

The letters I and O are omitted from the alphabetical sequences due to their similarities with the numbers 1 and 0. The letters Z is omitted and reserved for use on Malaysian military vehicles. This answers why the W series’ traditional 7-character format was exhausted at WYY 9999 not WZZ 9999. For the new series, the last number will then eventually be WYY 9999 Y.

© Provided by Vulcan Post Image Credit: Says.com

Image Credit: Says.com

Rumour has it that Perak’s Cars were registered as ‘A’ because Perak is the first state to have a car, and later Selangor with ‘B’ and so on. This is not true! Here’s why:

In the early days before 1945, Perak was PK and Penang PG. The British Military Administration restarted the system in 1945 with ‘A’ for Perak, ‘B’ for Selangor etc to prevent confusion between Singapore and Selangor, Perak and Penang etc.

© Provided by Vulcan Post
Image Credit:…

© 2022 SingaporeInformer - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy